Professional Development Sessions

B.Ed. students are required to attend four Professional Development sessions, set up by the Education Society/School of Education, during the course of their program in order to receive a PD certificate.

Options will be added as details are confirmed.

 

Wednesday, March 13
1:00-3:00pm
SEM 228
How to Prepare for the Interview Process
Mike Ouellette, Supervisor, AVRCE School Support Services
Mike Pinard, Coordinator of Human Resources, AVRCE
Dr. Michael Corbett
Monday, March 11
12:00-1:00pm
SEM 229
Trauma and Addictions in Student Lives
David McPhee
Wednesday, Feb. 20
12:30-3:30pm
SEM 229
Autism Awareness and Learning Centres
Ruth Manning, Consultant of Student Services for the Annapolis Valley Regional Centre for Education
Tuesday, Feb. 19
12:00-2:00pm
SEM 228
Getting on the HRCE Sub List
Sheila Christie
Thursday, Jan. 24
4:30-6:00pm
SEM 228
Sexual Health Education
by Sonya Cook, BPhEd, MEd in Counselling
Thursday, Jan. 17
12:00-1:00pm
SEM 229
Supporting LGBTQ Students in our Schools: Continuing the Conversation
This will be a continued discussion following the workshop at Wolfville School and will explore the following:
-review common LGBTQ terminology
-review issues faced by LGBTQ youth
-discuss strategies that we as teachers can use to better support LGBTQ students in our classrooms and in our schools
-address participants' outstanding questions on the topic
-explore common scenarios faced by teachers
Wednesday, Jan. 16
1:00pm-3:00pm
Wolfville School

Making safe and supportive environments for LGBTQ students
*In order to attend you must contact Rose, Wolfville School Administrative Assistant, ASAP

Friday, Nov. 16 (5:00-6:30pm) and Saturday, Nov. 17 (9:00am-3:45pm) "Let's Talk Creativity!"
Creative Connections Symposium
RSVP by Nov. 1 to Dr. Lynn Aylward for possible registration funding (limited spaces, first come basis)
Friday, Nov. 9
1:00-2:00pm
SEM 228
Local Literature: A Look at Books Our Students Care About!
by Heather Thomas, BA
Wednesday, Nov. 7
4:30pm-5:30pm
SEM 228
Diversified Assessment for the 21st Century
by Candina Doucette, BA Honours in History, minor in English
Tuesday, Nov. 6
6:30pm
Patterson 107
"The School in the Cloud" Film Screening
Hosted by Refresh Annapolis Valley
Please RSVP for catering purposes
Tuesday, Oct. 30
12:10-12:50pm
SEM 228
Teaching, Living, Loving in the Yukon 
by Tom Ullyett
Monday, Oct. 29
4:30pm-6:30pm
SEM 229
Using Improv to Build Community in the Classroom
by Brian Hawkes, BA English and Drama
Wednesday, Oct. 24
1:00pm-2:30pm
SEM 228
Teaching Literacy in French in a Minority-Language Setting
by Krista Luttmer, BTrad, BEd, MAEd
(presentation will mostly be in French)
Wednesday, Oct. 17
12:00pm-1:00pm
SEM 242
Cognitive Research Applied to Teaching and Learning
by Danielle Douglas, PhD
   

 

Go back